Transport delays are a widespread phenomenon in many cities today. What are the causes of this problem, and how could the situation be improved?

In recent times, people and companies are experiencing transport delays which are causing money loss. There are several factors that are affecting these delays and few of them are over congestion of roads and natural calamities. This essay we will discuss above measures in detail and how we can further improve the situation to minimize these delays. The major factor affecting the transport delays is overpopulation which is causing hours of traffic jams. Traffic jams can be caused by various factors like accidents, narrow highways or unconstructed roads which then lead to the traffic moving slower than expected. For example, in 2015, a minor accident on the highway 53 from San Diego to Los Angeles caused still traffic for hours. This caused travelers and companies major loss. Moreover, natural disasters like tsunamis or tornadoes are another factor that cause transport delays for days. This results into loss of connectivity and transport delays in main cities or areas. There can be different ways to deal with the problem of transport delays in cities. The major prevention is to use public transport like metro rails which save a lot of time compared to traveling by own vehicle. By using shared vehicles for commute allow people to use less vehicles which then result into less traffic on roads. Also, Government should introduce effective schemes for those who are sharing the vehicles for travelling. For example, in the USA government has built HOV lanes for 2 plus people travelling in a car. This allows people to save time from traffic jams which cause delays. Furthermore, people should plan ahead of time which can save them from getting stuck from bad weather situation. Hence, by following few rules, situation of delays can be improved. To sum up, the phenomenon of transport delays has been serious issue in the era of increasing population. Thus, the quicker we address this issue, the better we can minimize the losses we are having.