Some people think that hosting international sports events is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Whether organizing international sports events is a matter of debate. Some people reckon that organizing international sports events exerts positive impacts on the host country while others adhere to that it could endanger the government budget. In this essay. I will discuss both sides of matter, before representing my personal views To commence with, organizing international sports games can put the national image on the map. To elucidate, the host country is the ideal destination for like-minded spectators and it can potentially stimulate the tourism sector. By being the host, a country is able to take the opportunity to promote national culture and raise recognition on a global stage. For example, since the picture of beautifully garnished Vietnamese dishes made headlines during Sea Games in 2003, Vietnam has been branded as the “kitchen of the world” and a must-visit destination for global food lovers. Furthermore, the host country can make use of international sports events to flourish diplomatic relationships between nations. The stronger the bond, the more overseas trade flourishes. This does wonders for the national economy. On the other hand, organizing international games can put the national budget in danger. For instance, The Montreal Olympics was estimated to have cost $120 million (1970). As a result, it took 30 years to pay off the Olympic debt. International sports events such as World Cup or Sea Games draws enormous crowds. However, over-excited spectators may behave unconsciously such as smashing things around or littering. Not only does it degrades infrastructure, but it also causes unsanitary. In conclusion, although the host country has to face some repercussions for holding the sports event internationally, maintaining healthy diplomatic relationships between countries is extremely essential for the long-term development of countries. I firmly believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.