In recent years, more and more people are using to read e-books rather than paper books. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

Lastly, there has been a sharp increase in the number of readers who are opting for e- books instead of paper books, and in my opinion, the educational benefits of e- books surpass the drawback in terms of their lack of character. Admittedly, e- books are less personal than paper books in various ways. First, they lack individuality being less perceptible to the senses; that is, unlike paper books, they do not have a particular smell and they are less tactile than the traditional format that offers the possibility of flicking through the pages using your fingertips. Also, they have less sentimental value since although people can give each other digital books as gifts, they lack the private messages written in their own handwriting that paper books offer. Besides, they do not age in the same way as the latter, which grow along with their owners, acting as memory prompts; For example, when an elderly person opens an old and tatty book, loved ones they shared it with. Therefore, while a traditional book is almost like a living organism, an e-book is rather like a characterless machine. However, e- books are powerful educational tools. First, in comparison with paper books, they are more accessible to students as they are cheaper to produce, and therefore their prices are lower and more affordable, as well as the fact that there are often free copies available online that students can share. This accessibility is also enhanced when we consider that a large number of e- books can be stored on a device that a student can carry around, which makes studying more effective since the student can benefit from having more material available at any time and at any place. Finally, with the rise of online readers, in some ways reading on files is more interactive. For instance, with the Amazon Kindle, you can digitally underline and make comments in it before sharing them with a high number of online contacts, as well as rapidly accessing a variety of e-dictionaries to look up new words just by touching them. In conclusion, while e- books lack the more human aspect of paper books, this is more than compensated for by the fact that they are very beneficial in education due to their accessibility and their interactive nature.