Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is clear that the importance of sports has significantly grown over the last few decades. While some people believe that organising a sports tournament would offer benefits to the nation, others think that this would be disadvantageous. In this essay, I will explore both sides and give my opinion. On the one hand, staging big sports events might raise the country's popularity and propagate tourism. This is because major sports events would invite global sports sensations to come, compete and explore different aspects that the host country can offer. Furthermore, the worldwide broadcasting of events may entice people to further research about the culture and tourist attractions for the same. For example, after the 2010 Football world cup in Brazil, it received a 10% rise in the number of visits from foreign tourists. As a result, hosting sports events may increase the country's popularity and tourism rates. On the other hand, organising sports events may invite an economic downfall of the country. The reason for this is that government sports departments often have to apply for hefty loans to pay for the construction of sports infrastructure like stadiums, training facilities and hotels for accommodation, which do not generate revenue after the event is over. For instance, a $10 billion loss was suffered by the African government, after it invested in the 2010 Olympics. In contrast, if governments authorities would not have loaned in such non-profitable assets described above, the country would not have dealt with a financial loss. In conclusion, I believe that, although organising sports events might raise nations familiarity among global viewers and aid in tourism, this can be outweighed by the monetary drawback that the nation will undergo.