Some people say that now we can see films on our phones or tablets there is no need to go to the cinema. Others say that to be fully enjoyed, films need to be seen in a cinema. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

One part of society believes that cinema halls are obsolete due to the availability of movies and various shows on our smartphones and other smart devices. While the other section believes that film halls are the only way to capture the essence of the film. This essay will further discuss both, the provision of films on mobile and experience in a theatre. To begin with, in the recent era there has been a tremendous development in the area of technology enabling the availability of numerous entertainment-related applications at our fingertips. For example, as per a survey conducted by Nelson, 58% of the population prefer show applications like Netflix and Amazon prime and the footfall to cinema halls have declined to almost 40% especially post Covid-19. This is due to the fact that documentaries and shows are available at your own comfort, as per an individual’s convenience and at a very nominal cost. On the contrary, the other segment of the population feels that the cinematic experience can never be replaced. To illustrate, during the premiere of the animated feature Pokemon the movie house had made special arrangements for children along with complimentary meals. Theatres have also introduced various facilities like 3D and 4D visuals with powerful audio systems installed. Furthermore, provision of comfortable chairs and seats along with the variety of food has been made available to make cinema visit a truly memorable affair. In my opinion, while it is an undeniable fact that the cinematic experience can never be replaced by the show downloaded or posted on smartphones but alternatively the development such as mobile VFX devices and easy accessibility of programs on handsets with an inexpensive subscription of a plethora movies along with the factor of your convenience is also irreplaceable. To summarize, even though the theatre would be the right place to watch a movie but the ease of watching a picture on a smartphone involving lesser cost and more variety of genres to pick from is a favourable option, in my opinion, the movies can be watched in the future.