In recent years, the family structure has changed, as well as family roles. What are the changes occurring? Do you think these changes are positive or negative? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today's rapid age of industrialization, issues related to family have been frequently changing these days. We have to accept that the unit of society is transforming to be adapted to modern society in structure and in roles. In this essay, I will elaborate on the changing details before coming to a reasoned conclusion. Instead of a big family with three or four generations in the past, there are more and more individuals who prefer to tie the knot with their beloved ones, then build a nuclear family. As a matter of fact, some things about modern life that keep us occupied, in particular, the pressure to keep up, to be everywhere, and do everything is pretty constant. Therefore, having a small family would be a better choice to balance work and personal life, in which parents and children are able to manage to strengthen family relationships. Furthermore, a significant transformation can be seen in family roles as well thanks to the spread of the idea of gender equality. According to a popular traditional premise, women ought to pursue most of the housework while men supposed to work outside, earning money for mutual living survivorship. As a result, the mothers were pushed to be the multitasking machine which found themselves exhausted to meet external expectations. Fortunately, nowadays, both men and women can play active roles in a family. All things considered, it seems to me that the fact that families are turning into nuclear ones in which both genders are equal when it comes to tackling family problems has positive impacts on society in anyways.