Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (For example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Community service plays a very important role as it helps in the betterment of society. While some people are of the view that providing free facilities such as working for a charity, keeping the neighbourhood clean or helping kids in learning sports should be a mandatory part of the high school curriculum, others are of a different opinion. I completely agree with the view that voluntary efforts are important for the community. There are two primary reasons for this. To begin with, one of the major reasons for the students to inculcate the habit of giving charity is that they learn to give out to society from a very young age. Additionally, when the younger generation starts contributing to their community from a young age they continue doing it for the rest of their lives and hence this contributes towards the development of the economy due to improved facilities for the public. For instance, a recent study done in India showed that kids who donated money for charity continued giving for several years. Subsequently, the economy gets better. Further and even more importantly, youths can improve their social skills by doing social activities such as giving charity to the ones who are in need, supporting for the betterment of the environment to name a few. As a result of which, it contributes to their personal and social development. For example, youths will have to communicate and interact with many people on daily basis for the effective completion of the project. Therefore, younger ones create a broader network with the surrounding. By way of conclusion, I reaffirm my position that proving free facilities for the development of the environment should be made mandatory because it aids teenagers to give out to their societies and also helps in their social growth.