Public libraries should only provide books and should not waste their limited resources on expensive high-tech media such as software, videos or DVDs. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people get hold of the idea that public libraries ' funds should be aimed at purchasing publications, instead of being used to subscribe for modern media such as videos and DVDs. However, I disagree with them, because these technologies have as much importance as traditional books in broadening the horizons for citizens, and public libraries facilitate accessing them for those who cannot afford to obtain these items. These days many references that should be present in public libraries are only available in video format, since it is more convenient for the publishers to use this type of media. For example, National Geographic documentaries on Africa, which are popular among those who use libraries to research about this continent, are only offered as visual clips. Therefore, if public libraries want to have comprehensive reference materials, they would need to subscribe for them. Moreover, many people cannot afford to buy high-tech sources of data despite needing them. So that it is the public libraries responsibility to facilitate the access to these resources for this population. For instance, although many students in Canada, where I live, need to use statistical software for their school projects, it is almost impossible for them to pay for its subscription fee. As a result, they use public libraries to complete their tasks. If these accommodations were not offered in such places, many students would fail to perform their mathematical homework. To conclude, in my opinion, spending public libraries ' budget on modern technologies is mandatory, since these models of media are the only source of information in many fields, and it facilitates the access to these items for many of the citizens.