People today generally have better lives than people in the past did. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People ’s lifestyles have drastically changed over the past decades. Most people are living a more modern lifestyle than before, thanks to improvements in technology and healthcare. In my point of view, people ’s lives are better than their ancestors’ in some aspects, while it is in converse in other aspects. With respect to modern facilities, people are living a more convenient life by using new tools and gadgets which facilitate their transportation, safety and health. For instance, they are taking advantage of faster and more reliable transportation vehicles than before. Moreover, modern buildings and civic infrastructure keep people safer than in ancient times. Also, with the advent of new medicines and drugs, life expectancy soared noticeably, even in developing countries. As another instance, the infant mortality rate dropped about tenfold during the past century as a result of extreme growth in healthcare. In contrast, when it comes to the drawbacks of a new lifestyle, it has deteriorated from social relations view. Nowadays, individuals are more isolated than in past decades which is a consequence of the modern era. People work harder to make their ends meet and as a result, they do not have adequate time to spend with their families and friends. In addition, some cultural norms such as community service and self-sacrificing are vanishing because of overworking. Not only this but also the families have become smaller and the family support for children is less than before. In conclusion, although from some perspectives the standard of living has improved in recent decades, it has declined from other perspectives. People live a more technological and safer life, but they suffer from social problems.