Some people believe that giving longer prison sentences is the best way to reduce crime. Others believe that there are better ways to reduce crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the 21st century, human life became more complex whereby these changes result increasing number of crime cases in our society. Thus, some people supported like life long sentences but others contended for reformative programs for this problem. In this essay, I will explain both views with relevant examples. Correctional settlement and its long-term adaptation enhance public awareness against non-violence because these provisions motivate fear, concern and refusal of criminal activities. For example, the country like Norway,Sweden and Finland considered as the lowest crime rates against women. Another key thing to remember, these countries applied life long sentences for personal crimes thereby to generate public opposition against rape,sexual abuse and domestic violence. Besides this, long-term prison life mitigate a person's behavioural problems although, it curtails further revengeful activities.To support this, criminals like sociopaths and cannibals need a separate living space from the community because they are genetically vulnerable.So they cannot make a normal life with other people. However, the modern society there are many correctional of programs are available. Firstly, psychological interventions like psychosocial analysis, counselling therapy and behaviour modification therapy promotes many positive changes in the minds of criminals. Secondly, the invention of criminal settlement programs deprive non-violence. To illustrate this, According to the American psychological association, human settlement programs like imparting education and employment generation reduced 75% of reformation among abusers. Thirdly, social welfare policies and administration for abolishing exploitation, human trafficking,social inequalities and prostitution brings mentally healthier citizens because it helps progressive socialization between all people. In conclusion, there is a saying 'a coin has two sides' similarly any correctional programs have constructive and destructive results. For instance, the government and social authorities make sure that their interventions should be appropriate for all people.