Some people think that sports play an important role in society. Others think they are nothing more than a leisure activity. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is an opinion that asserts sports are of the highest degree of importance in today's society, while some people believe that it is just for fun and relaxing. There are some rational arguments on both sides of this contentious subject which will be discussed in detail, followed by my own take on the matter. On the one hand, some people are of the opinion that sports have a vital impact on the community. The most axiomatic reasoning is the fundamental impact of doing different kinds of exercise on the human body's health. To put it another way, the healthy mind comes from a healthy body; therefore, doing sports directly affects society's overall health. Moreover, different aspects of sports, including national and international contests, are capable of playing an outstanding function in each country. Take the financial, economic and political influence of events like the Olympic games, as an example; it will definitely have a positive impact on the given society. On the other hand, others argue that the main goal of doing different sports is just relaxing. Firstly, besides sport, there are many issues that control the individual heath, including eating habits, stressful occupation, financial problems, etc. This, in turn, leads to a decrease in the importance of exercise activities. Secondly, the importance of infrastructures and facilities which are inevitable for doing physical exercises is equal or even much more than the sports itself. This, in turn, stems from the ability of the government to provide such facilities. To conclude, it is my firm conviction that even though other factors exist which of a high degree of importance, it does not dilute the key role of sports. This comes from the influence of sports on society's health and the function of sports in areas like a given country's economy and politics.