Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extend are you agree or disagree?

These days it is commonly believed that spending money on railways is better rather than highways and the government should spend more money on railway tracks. However, I totally disagree with the statement and in the forthcoming,paragraph I shall discuss my viewpoint. To begin with, the growth of every nation depends on its transportation system, if a country has a good transit facility then its economy would be growing. Roads are essential for good economical balance because the government could not provide railway tracks in every part of the country but they can provide pavement. The reason behind that laying of the rail line is not economical. For instance, authorities can change highway routes easily according to topography but in the case of,railway it is not possible so they to construct bridges and tunnels according to the requirement which costs a lot. Moreover, developing countries can not afford costly transportation because they have limited resources, and the preliminary cost and maintenance of rail lines are quite high. Most of the population of these countries live in the villages so they have to provide cost-effective ways for the people who lived in towns. For example, 70% of individuals live in the countryside in India and the government has a responsibility to provide a transit system to them and because they transport daily needs items to the cities on a daily basis. To conclude, spending capital on the rail lines is indeed good. However, roads are much successful in the current scenario because they connect small towns which is our first priority. So, governments should spend more money on roadways rather the railways because roads are the lifeline of the country.