Some students nowadays prefer to study online through online courses. What are the advantages and disadvantages of learning online?

It is commonly thought that the technology advancement and global internet network may one day move the education to the online. Having learned from any place in the world would certainly support the equality and flexibility of education yet there will be some drawbacks. One of the considerable benefits of online studying is accessibility. Since students are able to access the courses in any place globally, it definitely reduces several resources, for instance, the time to travel and the fuel consumption. Moreover, the equality of education is also significant. The opportunity for students in rural areas to access the same level of standard and practice from the quality school. Another advantageous reason for online learning is the freedom to select the education path. Students are able to discover particular skills apart from traditional school tracks. On the other hand, there are obvious disadvantages of learning online. Firstly, the disappearance of physical contact among students creates a lower level of communication and participation. The discussion in the classroom are widen the perspective of students which enhance their creativity and teamwork. Moreover, the instructors could not oversee the performance of each student clearly. In the classroom, teachers are able to connect with students through their behaviours and feedbacks which are difficult for online teaching. Secondly, studying online is easy to be distracted from the lessons. Some students may not focus while learning through digital devices. The concentration of learning is decreased due to the difficulty of supervising each student. In conclusion, all of the learning could be shifted from ordinary schools to online in the near future. While there is the plus of studying online, too much would be lost. Therefore, the development of participation and focusing for students should be prioritised to encourage students to share ideas throughout courses.