Nowadays many jobs are more stressful and the working day is longer. What are the reasons for this? What can employers do to help employees?

It is often claimed that some people spend more hours at work and they experience higher levels of stress because of their working conditions these days. I believe this has been caused due to the competitive nature of today’s businesses as well as the necessity of affording a living. However, there are some measures that could be taken by employers to alleviate the effects of cited problems. Nowadays, many companies find themselves in continuous competition with their business rivals for providing services with higher quality and speed. To achieve such qualities, their staff should meet required qualifications which are gained through undergoing high amounts of tension and working long hours per day. Those who work in a hydro-power plant, for instance, should work 12 hour-shifts with maximum precision to generate and transfer a certain amount of electricity into the nationwide network. The second major reason for working long stressful hours of work is the high costs of living that have led people toward working multiple shifts in severe conditions each day. Many workers could afford their lives only if they work at least two shifts per day., Clearly such circumstances have made working conditions more problematic than ever. To tackle the aforementioned issues, company owners could offer some solutions one of which would be conducting tutorials regarding stress management techniques. This could be considered as an efficient way to teach people how to deal with stress at work and how to improve their performance. Examples of such stress management methods could be seen in simulated situations in which a mentor teaches the staff practically how to use their learned knowledge to confront issues. These courses also can teach people methods to cope with long hours of work. Providing a priority-based to-do list is an example of such a method. Another step that could be taken by CEO’s could be bonuses that are considered as an incentive for hard-working staff. Despite being under a lot of pressure and working all day long, different packages of bonuses for such staff would act as a quick and powerful remedy. Buying tickets for a trip or booking a hotel reservation as an award to qualified employees could be known as great examples of compensation by their employer. Such appreciation results in the company’s staff being more consistent and energetic. In conclusion, although, these days, the staff of many companies experience a certain amount of tension and have to work long hours to cover requirements of their bosses and afford their daily costs, applying stress management techniques through teaching staff and considering bonus packages would be seen as methods to resolve these issues by employers.