DISCUSS WHEN, IF EVER, CAPITAL PUNISHMENT – THE DEATH PENALTY – CAN BE VIEWED AS A VALID PUNISHMENT FOR CRIME

The death penalty has been always a controversial topic. While many believe that it is necessary to keep the security system efficient in society, others believe differently. I shall discuss both views in the following paragraph along with my view on the notion. To begin, there definitely are several reasons that show the death penalty is against human rights. On this planet earth, everyone has a basic right of living and no one can infringe that. Also, a punishment given for demise is actually irreversible. What if the person was falsely accused or mistaken and hanged to death, but later proven innocent. That is an act that cannot be undone and thus it is not a human act. On the other hand, some crimes are brutal and it is important to demonstrate to the people that the end result is death. So, people will think before committing such an act. For instance, the Indian government announced capital punishment for terrorist named Kasab who was responsible for thousands of people’s death in a terrorist attack of 26/11 in Mumbai. Secondly, ruling parties usually spend huge budgets on maintaining prisons and prisoners. Instead, this money should be well spent on the development and wellness of citizens. To conclude, I opine that capital punishment is essential when the crime is severe and cannot be justified with any other punishment, this includes terrorist acts, raps and serial killing. However, the government should put an effort to make people aware of the law and order for peace and justice.