Young people who commit crimes should be treates in the same as adults who commit crime. To what extent you agree or disagree?

Some people get hold of the idea that punishing young criminals should be similar to adults. I, however, do not agree with them because this group of outlaws are victims of social problems. Also, the aim of retribution for juvenile felons should be the rehabilitation of them. The youngsters who commit misdeeds usually do so because of their poverty and lack of education, which were supposed to be provided by the community they live in. In contrast, adult felons often break the law due to their greed. For instance, many teenage shoplifters steal food because they are hungry and do not have enough money to purchase food. If there was a proper social system to offer food to these people, they would never commit the act of robbery in the first place. This explains why I believe this group are mostly victims of the scarcities in their community rather than being guilty of their behaviour. Moreover, the main purpose of sentencing young criminals should be rehabilitation, because, in contrast to the older ones, they are more likely to be deterred by proper education and support. For example, if arrested teenage shoplifters are sent to school, they will probably become law-abiding and will never engage in criminal acts again. Nevertheless, if they are sentenced to prison, similar to what happens to older felons, they will probably repeat their misdeeds after being released. In conclusion, juvenile punishments should be different from others because they are victims of social issues and can be reformed by education.