Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business, and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Some people get hold of the idea that the knowledge in scientific, economic and academic fields should be accessible for all the population of the world as this can help individuals to improve their quality of life. Others, however, argue against this freedom of access, because they assume some information is too sensitive and may be abused if being shared. In my opinion, the former group has the correct position in this argument. Sharing the results of scientific projects, especially which can be used to create weapons, maybe dangerous since terrorists may take advantage of them to attack countries. This is why many people believe any data that can be used in that capacity should remain confidential. For example, these individuals argue that the results of clinical trials on certain infectious diseases such as Ebola should not be published in open- access journals as they have the potential to be to create biological weapons. Also, they believe if financial information is accessible for all, online hackers might use them to infiltrate the bank accounts and steal from them. However, these arguments do not justify restricting access to this information. However, the supporters of freedom of access to scientific and academic data state that people around the world can use them to tackle their local challenges. For instance, biological studies can help many underdeveloped countries, such as those in central Africa, to produce vaccines that they need to prevent infectious diseases. Therefore, it is unethical to limit access to that kind of info out of fear of abuse. Moreover, if people are allowed to access financial data, they will be able to protect their businesses from drawbacks. In conclusion, although sharing academic, scientific and business information can increase that they get abused by some, it generally improves the living conditions of people around the world.