Memorising facts is the most important way to succeed in education.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The entire field of education has turned into a big rat race. Students need to have abundant knowledge at the tip of their tongues. As a result, for succeeding in life and enhancing one's career prospects, memorising facts has become an essential requirement for everyone. But, I strongly disagree with this kind of approach to education because it does not encourage a positive attitude towards new research and will eventually render that particular subject uninteresting. Rote memorization, as it is called sophisticatedly, has become an indispensable part of learning. For instance, it becomes even more evident when a student is preparing for the multiple-choice question-based entrance exams. This process of mugging up the facts and revising them over and over again is very frustrating,to say the least. Additionally, it does not help in a better understanding of the subject. Thus, the students fail to ask any new questions and no innovative research gets done. Secondly, the internet has volumes of data on every subject under the sun. So, anyone can get the required information in just one click. As a result, it will be useless for a person to waste so much time and energy in memorising such stale, old information. Computers and robots are better equipped than men to store all such data. To sum up, I think, it is necessary to get a thorough understanding of a specific topic first. On the other hand, blindly mugging up the trivia will prove worthless in the long run. Also, the educational boards should make an effort to change the pattern of entrance exams in a way that creative thinking would be given more points than plain memorization of facts.