Many people think modern communication technology is having some negative effect on social relationship. Do you agree or disagree?

It is said that cutting-edge technological advance in connection is having some negative impact on social relationships. While it remains undeniable that social networking sites bring about some advantages, it is a belief of mine that the benefits that are offered overweigh its drawbacks. First of all, one of the criticisms of the development of machinery in contact is that it diminishes the users’ social skills. According to the supporters of this view, people who usually use electronic tools could narrow their connections down to virtual conversations, even neglect real-life interactions; leading to reducing their social relations. With the convenience of high-tech conversation devices such as smartphones or chatting applications like Twitter, Instagram,… they do not have the demands of face-to-face communications; so they would make their situations become worse, have some diseases such as obesity or stress. Despite its inevitable downsides, automation provides significant benefits. when it comes to delivery purposes, people could save time. Instead of having to wait for days for a letter to be delivered, they could send messages in seconds by using email or Facebook. Second, it extends people’ social relations, thanks to modern technological communication. With just a few clicks of a mouse or browsing some websites, they could connect with people with the same interests, make friends from all over the world. Moreover, they could stay in touch with their friends whenever they want. In conclusion, even though it is clear that modern intelligence automation is disadvantageous to some extent, its contributions to the improvement of how they manage their social relationships have undoubtedly overshadowed said negativity.