Write about the following topic: Some people think it is more important to spend public money on roads and motorways than on public transport systems such as railways and trams. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is an eternal paradox that the resources at our disposal are limited, while we have numerous projects desperately needing these resources. How to allocate resources between motorways and railways is not an exception. From my perspective, society should invest more in public transport systems as this suggests both a caress for the disadvantaged and the determination to protect the environment. It is easy to understand why the inclination of resources on railways can protect the environment. According to the latest report from the UN, waste from cars is one of the most serious air pollutants that has worsened the Greenhouse Effect. Hence, if we lead more people to use private cars less often by providing sophisticated and convenient public transport systems, we are definitely making contributions to the improvement of the environment. Apart from reducing air pollution, enhancing public transport systems can also suggest human caring for the disadvantaged, such as those workers in developing countries. They usually struggle on the subsistence line, and it is more desirable for them to improve public transport systems rather than construct roads for cars which they can not afford. Admittedly everyone’s needs are worthwhile to be considered, including the wealthy, but the bottom line of civilisations is decided by our caring for vulnerable groups. Therefore, I am inclined to build more railways. To summarise, given that spending public money on public transport systems can not only alleviate the Greenhouse Effect but also improve the living conditions of the vulnerable, I argue that this investment deserves to be considered seriously and carefully.