‘Children do not respect their parents as much as they did in the past. This behaviour is now having a negative impact on society.’ Discuss. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today's world, children are no longer obedient to their mothers and fathers when compared to how they were long ago. This has affected many communities negatively. There's now too much crime and bad influence from social media. To begin with, most minors are involved in criminal activities. This is because they do not listen to their parents. Rules set in their homes are sometimes seen as imprisoning them and taking away their freedom. Instead of staying at home, they create friendships and join groups that are associated with crime. For instance, a recent study showed that most juveniles involved in communal theft started by doing it in their own homes. They did not listen to their parents when they were reprimanded. This impacts society negatively because people now live in fear of losing their properties. To add on, social media plays a big role in contemporary society. Most children copy the lives of celebrities online and try to mimic it. Some of the vocabulary and dress code aired on the internet by content creators becomes their dream lifestyle. No person can convince them that it's a script. When parents try to correct such actions, most minors do not listen. Mothers and fathers are considered to be old-fashioned and boring. Such actions have affected society in a negative way. They are now raising uncultured children who think they know life better than their elders. In conclusion, this essay discussed that juveniles no longer obey their mothers and fathers as they used to long ago. This is because of social media influence and involvement in crime.