Many museums charge for admission, while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays some public museums charge entry fees from visitors, while others are free to enter. The topic of whether museums should charge entrance fees has become controversial. In my opinion, all museums should not charge an admission fee, because the disadvantages of charging outweigh its advantages. On the one hand, it is no doubt that as a public facility, museums need funds to operate which means they need money to spend on maintenance equipment, item purchasing and staff etc. By charging a certain amount of entrance fee, museums would have enough income to cover those expenses. Furthermore, museums could utilize tickets income to promote themselves or purchase valuable items. For instance, art museums rely on funds to purchase art collections such as expensive paintings and sculptures. Without enough financial support, these places will be less maintained and lose the attention of visitors. Therefore, it is obvious that selling tickets are important in order to support museums. On the other hand, despite it seems favourable to charge an admission fee, the disadvantages are more obvious. First, the main function of museums is to educate or entertain visitors by displaying exhibits. An entrance fee will perhaps prevent the public from going to museums, so museums will become less attractive to even foreign visitors that would have contributed to local GDP by consuming on local restaurants and accommodations. So museums could potentially be beneficial to the local economy. Second, In fact. most public museums are categorized as non-profit organizations, which usually operates by the local or national government, and it means enough financial support. To sum up, the benefits of selling admission tickets are not as obvious as its drawback. The museum has enough funds from governments’ tax revenue and they should play their role in serving the public instead of making a profit.