every year several language die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Admittedly, some minority languages are facing extinction nowadays, because the population of certain speakers are decreasing each year. Therefore, some people advocate it is easier to only use a few mainstream languages, minority languages are becoming less important. I disagree with this point of view. I think minority languages are as important as other commonly-used languages and should not be ignored by society. It is true that using only one or two languages could eliminate the language barrier and maximize communication efficiency. First, take the most widely-speaking language- English, as an example, which popularized in over 190 countries. The difficulty and cost of learning such a widely spoken language are lower than learning minority languages, so Individuals may feel much easier and comfortable to study. Second, the government could save more budget on public expenditures by closing special services to certain languages speaking groups. For instance, in some native reserve places, local authorities need to spend extra tax revenue in those specialized minority language schools. By replacing it with a normal school, money can be saved. In spite of the benefits of reducing the usage of endangered languages, the drawbacks are more obvious. On the one hand, Different languages may contain its’ own culture and history content. Without a wide range of languages, the world would become less interesting and lose cultural diversity, which leads some norms and traditions to disappear. the historical legacy of minority languages could be useful in the researches of human civilization. On the other hand, people who speak certain languages may feel isolated and lonely, this may cause society unstable issues. To sum up, it is true that endangered languages may not suit contemporary society in some aspects. However, it is still worth to be preserved, because the cultural and historical values are unpredictable.