Some students take one year off between finishing school and going to university, in order to travel or to work. Do you think advantages outweigh disadvantages?

When they finish school, teenagers face the choice of whether to take a gap year or continue their education. In my view, I believe that the advantages of taking one year off outweigh the disadvantages. The argument in favour of continuing studies rather than taking a gap year would be that it seems more efficient. Students who choose to go to university straight can get guaranteed before the people taking a gap year. As a result, they can find a job and become independent earlier than others. What’s more, some people may think that it also wastes money if students use one year to travel. However, I think taking a gap year can be more beneficial. There are several reasons for choosing a gap year. Firstly, it gives young people chances to know the real society before they go to university. Because they can use a year to meet other people expect for classmates and teachers and they need tackle all kinds of problems by themselves. As a result, they can learn some precise experience from others and become more mature and independent in mental. Secondly, teenagers can find their real interests and have a clear goal in this way. Compare to those who go to university straight after high school, they have enough to decide their major to learn and they get more opportunities through doing different kinds of work. In conclusion, while some people believe that taking a gap year wastes time, I would argue that it is better for students to take one year USE SYNONYMS agedayhourmomentperiodstagetermtime It is important to use synonyms in your writing, as you will lose marks if you repeat words from the question and use the same words in your essay over and over. If you do that, it will show the examiner that you have a limited vocabulary and you want to do the opposite for a high band score. off.