Some people think that the main purpose of school is to turn children into good citizens and workers, rather to benefit them as individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a belief that school aims to make children become ethical residents and labourers while others assert that youngsters should be benefited as individuals. Personally, this writer totally disagrees with this statement and will explain it in the following sections. It must be understood that it is the behavior, not performance that plays a vital role in social development. In fact, a good employee consists of generosity, responsibility, dedication as well as other moral aspects. Practically, having a well-behaved character encourages workers to alleviate conflicts in the workplace and promotes a sense of solidarity. Consequently, enterprises that own good citizens in their workforce should witness an increase in profit along with employees’ productivity. In the long term, this strategy plays a crucial role in maintaining social sustainability as well as economic growth. Another factor which contributes to this writer’s disagreement is the former aim of schools to aid students to achieve kindness and dedication. To explain, if educators benefit children as individuals, there is no doubt that they will not focus on developing national well-being owing to their demand in personal appetites. According to this trend, obviously, these labourers will choose to work for themselves rather than communities. As a result, workplaces which contain this kind of workers often experience a lack of unity and coordination. Take Vietnam as an example, where roughly 70% of international school pupils who undergo a wide range of great education usually struggle with inconvenience regarding teamwork tasks in later careers due to various conflicts that they trigger. To conclude, transforming a child into a kind citizen must be contemplated the utmost priority of education. Hence, this essay has outlined the reasons for this disapproval.