In many countries today, crime novels and TV crime dramas are becoming more and more popular. Why do you think these books and TV shows are popular?

There has been a drastic increase in viewership with regard to atrocity shows and novels in recent times. In my opinion, these books and dramas are based on human actions which are unpredictable in nature and hence ignite curiosity on the topic. This essay will delineate the cause of rising in popularity of the crime genre. To begin with, the human race has a tendency of being attracted towards a subject with is not recommended. Due to the taboo attached with the words like unlawful, illegal and,, crime there remains an eagerness to know more. For instance, reading a corruption novel creates a form of interest to gather further details on the offence, since one, in reality, cannot be a part of such events so this is one of the ways to subconsciously experience it. Furthermore, most of these series telecasted on television or available on online platforms are the stories of real criminals or true events which took place in the recent past. For example, the series Narcos gave an overview of the drug cartel operated by the infamous drug lord Pablo Escobar and the luxurious life led by him and subsequently the fall of his empire. Thus, giving a layman access to understand a life of a criminal. However, such shows and novels also help decipher the psychology of an offender. This helps in also identifying the people around since these books highlight numerous characteristics to an unlawful and criminal minded individual. For example, the series Mindhunter gave information and details along with features of notorious serial kills leading to awareness amongst the community. To conclude, curiosity is one of the driving forces which has resulted in rapid growth in the popularity of lawlessness novels and features films along with the want to subconsciously experience the thrill related to the act.