The debate exists on whether young people should have the freedom to select their own profession of if they should adapt pragmatic approach, considering their future more seriously.

Some people believe that young generation should choose their own profession while others argue that they should be practical. Though choosing a career path that gives a stable income will help people survive in our thriving economy, I believe that doing what you love is more fulfilling. In this essay, I will discuss both sides and explain why choosing your own profession is better. To begin with, choosing a work based on personal interests and passion could lead to a satisfying career. People will be more dedicated and motivated to excel in their profession if they are passionate about their work. For instance, most healthcare workers continued to work during the pandemic despite the threat it gave them and their family. They worked more than 24 hours, took the first shot of vaccine, some even worked without proper personal protective equipment. Their remarkable resilience saved a lot of lives. This only proves that passion is necessary in choosing a profession. On the other hand, some may argue that pursuing your passion does not give financial stability. Because of this, people tend to choose a profession which is in high demand as it can increase their chance of finding employment. It is especially applicable in today’s world where everything is expensive. Having a job that pays well will not only provide the basic needs of people but also enjoy the luxuries in life. In conclusion, though choosing a work that provides high income might be very beneficial financially, it could lead to a sense of unfulfillment in the long run. I believe that having a career you are passionate about is more important.