Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end hunger and poverty, while others say that economic growth is damaging the environment so it must be stopped. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different views about whether the growth of the economy needs to stop due to its negative impacts on the environment. While some argue that economic growth is the only measure to tackle the global issues of hunger and poverty, I would believe that economic growth which is not sustainable should be stopped. On the one hand, those who see economic growth as the sole solution to put an end to hunger and poverty propose several reasons. Firstly, governments with strong finance can allocate resources to develop agriculture. As a result, this would undoubtedly help produce food to sustain the growing population. Secondly, those national authorities would be able to afford to support each and every citizen who is in need. Finally, with the growth of the economy, more and more jobs are created, which could facilitate individuals to earn a living. On the other hand, there are a variety of examples supporting the opposing view that economic growth leads to environmental degradation. In many developing countries, recently a wide range of lowland forests has been cleared and unsustainable agriculture is introduced to produce crops that are valuable to export. In addition, for developed countries, the usage of fossil fuels to provide energy for the growing industrialization can result in global warming. This, consequently, would lead to the rise in sea levels, which might make many poor people homeless. In conclusion, I would maintain that economic growth, which is not based on meeting human needs rather than generating profits must be stopped because of its serious damage to the environment.