Young people are often influenced by their peers. Do the advantages of peer pressure outweigh the disadvantages?

It is undeniable that youngsters are often encouraged and influenced by the same age group of people. Although this trend has some disadvantages like a distraction from the goals and an attraction to bad habits, I believe that the benefits that get from peer pressure clearly outweigh the drawbacks. On the one hand, there are some disadvantages that young people can face by getting influenced by their peers. First and foremost, it could be argued that youngsters can get easily distracted from their goals. Indeed, if people give more importance to the party or enjoyment instead of study, it will easily affect their concentration and focus from their aim or goal, which might impact their educational performance. Consequently, this can destroy their career as well as their future life. Another downside is that young people can get easily attracted to negative and destructive habits. Substance abuse, excessive smoking, gambling are some examples of habits youngsters follow to impress their friends or get motivated from them, which can bring long-term health issues. Despite these issues, I, however, feel that peer pressure is more beneficial to young people. The primary advantage is that youngsters can get the motivation to achieve their goals and aims. Certainly, spending more time with dedicated and goal-oriented people makes it more likely to get influenced to achieve goals and targets in life. For example, students who study with intelligent classmates tend to perform better academically. In addition, peer pressure can also help settle down in a new environment. There are many students who travel abroad for study or work and face many issues. However, if they spend time with the people of their age group, they can learn useful things like language or communication, which may help them increase their confidence in life. Although they might also learn bad habits, I would argue that with proper self-control and dedication, young people can stay away from negative things and adopt some positive habits. In conclusion, although I admit that disadvantages like a distraction from goals and attraction to the negative habits young people can get by getting influenced by peers, the advantages they get like motivation and chance to learn some skills are invaluable. Therefore, I feel that the benefits of peer pressure clearly outweigh the drawbacks.