Some people think that the best way to solve the problem of air pollution in cities is to increase the cost of vehicle fuel. Others think that different measures should be taken. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In recent years, some advocates that the best alternative to tackle the issue of air pollution in urban areas is to enhance the cost of petrol, diesel, and CNG. However, other people believe that various steps prove to be helpful to address this problem. In my view, increasing the price of fuel is not a good option instead adopting public transport or odd and even methods will benefit society. To commence with, the government should increase the cost of vehicle fuel due to this people find difficult to afford. Particularly, middle-class families could not be able to fill up the tank of wheelers. This really helps in reducing the pollution. For instance, the governing body of India increased the price after COVID-19, which in turn specifically in the metropolitan cities, citizens started to use public transport. Consequently, prevents both traffic congestion and air pollution. Besides that, many harmful gases such as sulfur and nitric oxide are released by petrol and diesel. Therefore, it is the best way to sink the air pollutants into a trough. Further, exploring the other view of upgradation in the price of fuel is not the better approach towards the reduction of air pollution. In fact, campaigns and awareness programs can be beneficial. People come to know about the harmful consequences of pollution in the environment. Despite that, different measures should be adopted to preserve our nature for living wellness. For example, the Delhi government for the past six years have introduced odd and even methods in which number plates with odd and even numbers can run on the road. Moreover, Delhi Transport Corporation provides free services to travellers. So individuals easily travel in Delhi at any distant place, hence a good step towards decreasing the impact of harmful gases in the surroundings. In my opinion, I firmly believe that we are the ones to protect our mother nature and living beings from the effects of pollution. So, prevention is better than cure, must use public vehicles rather than personal, except in an emergency. To conclude, both standpoints have their own verdict. Nevertheless, as per my contention, we have to understand the value of ecology and the environment. Should support the rules and regulations made by the government to minimize such complex problems.