In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

We live in a world of commercialization where everything is intended for sales and marketing. Presently, many businesses take this opportunity and claim that their products are innovative in one way or another, through their advertisements. To my mind, this is a negative development that will be discussed in the forthcoming paragraphs. To commence with, there is no doubt that such claims have more cons than pros. One of them is a ‘blind trust’ of the target market; audiences believe what they see on the TV and might make a compulsive buying later after being exposed to the benefits of a particular product without doing further research on the desired item. For instance, the majority of adverts related to skincare are misleading and are mostly targeted to people who are skin conscious. More precisely, each company tries to claim that their face products leave a profound effect on the face skin like no other brand. As a result, this becomes potentially dangerous especially for those individuals who have sensitive skins. Another problem is that they create different marketing strategies for persuasion to ensure the authenticity and distinctiveness of their products or services. To be sure, businesses emphasizing that their inventions are innovative can also be beneficial because not all companies lie in their advertisings and they actually provide some benefits to the consumer, unlike other similar sellers. This is reasonable to the extent that the ratio of such sellers is low. Thus, claims made on the newness of things are mostly untrue as per my own experiences. To conclude, through advertising, many marketers think that they will be able to persuade the viewers about the singularity of their items. They take advantage of their customers by building trust and creating unique marketing approaches that compel us to buy. Hence, I am convinced that this is a negative development in general and personal research is recommended before making a purchase.