Demand for gas and oil is increasing and so finding new sources in remote and untouched areas is a necessity. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

The world is witnessing a massive increase in the demand for gas and oil, as more and more people are turning affluent, and are staying in energy-inefficient, expensive houses, and plying gas-guzzling personal vehicles. Hence, the energy companies are turning their eyes towards pristine sites that may harbour reserves of gas and oil. Mostly, these new sites are ecologically fragile areas, and any exploitation will wreak havoc in these places. So, should these places be explored for fuel reserves? I fear not- tampering with these areas will destroy the flora and fauna, and in the long run will extract a huge environmental cost from us. Rampant globalization and capitalist ideas have changed our mindset to a consumerist one, where it is vital to obtain goods and services, and continue craving for more. Thus, the streets are filled with cars; the pavements glow with signboards and endless shops display luxury goods. All this has put enormous demands on the present supplies of petroleum products and hence, oil exploration agencies are fanning out to the remote Tundra, the deep jungles of Assam and the coral basins in the United States. Oil wells, for example, in Texas and China have polluted their surrounding beyond repair. Even the deep-sea oil rigs are known to suffocate local marine life with their toxic discharges. If oil companies are allowed to operate from pristine new environments, then similar destruction will take place and the entire ecological balance will be damaged beyond repair. Obviously, the disadvantages of disturbing remote areas far outweigh the advantages. So, what is the solution? The best solution is to explore and adopt electric rechargeable batteries and biofuel. Also, solar-powered vehicles are an attractive option and these vehicles must be promoted. In conclusion, every effort must be made to save our environment because we can live without petrol, but we cannot live without oxygen.