Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extend do you agree?

It is considered by some that social interaction platforms like Facebook have had detrimental effects on persons and communities. In my opinion, I completely agree with this view because there is plenty of uncensored content on the internet and it generally disintegrates societal ties. To begin with, since the internet is a no man's land, no one monitors the content that is shared and viewed on platforms like Facebook. This means that people are subjected to explicit material such as pornography, rendering it unsafe for individuals. For instance, a recently commissioned research done in the United States in 2020 revealed that 75% of the web content has sexual connotations, making it insecure. Furthermore, these social networking sites have an undesirable effect on society as well. Due to their convinience, everyone is almost always glued to their gadgets more, thereby denying all forms of physical interaction. For example, an average US teenager, if uninterrupted, can easily skip a family dinner because they want to socialize and play games on the internet. In conclusion, the use of social interaction sites, exposes individuals to unfiltered material as well as disintegrates family and societal ties. I believe socializing applications should be monitored to reduce negative impacts on humanity.