Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while others think it is a waste of time. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Art is considered mandatory for the young ones at school, however, others believe the time should be used for other purposes. While knowledge in art is useful as it may aid people in expressing their sentiments, I think more time should be allocated to other subjects such as science and language as that would help build their career. Knowledge in art is useful as it helps children to express their feelings. Already from early on, children learn to communicate by artistic expression. They dance, sing or draw sketches that reflect their emotional status. Learning about art can help children understand how feelings can be expressed through artwork. For example, studies have found that children that are abused often draw sad faces and use dark colors when asked to make a sketch. Although knowledge in art is useful, I do not think children should be made to learn about art as there is so much more to focus on during the years at school. Science and language are more important to learn and are worth the time to a much larger degree than art. That is to say that children that spend time with these subjects will be better trained for further studies, thus helping their chances for achieving high grades at school which makes them better qualified when applying for university and further studies. For example, in Finland, science and language are the main subjects that children are taught in school and these children have good grades and are better prepared for further studies than in other countries. To conclude, while art is seen as essential for some as it can be useful for expressing sentiments, it is of my opinion that other subjects such as science and language should be a larger part of the children ’s curriculum as these pave the wave for further studies and careers.