Billions of dollars are being wasted each year in space research . The money could be better used to improve conditions on eart. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

Since the middle of the 20th century, beginning with the first human trip to the moon until the last robot sent to Mars, a lot of money was invested in space research. However, some people think that the fund could be applied to advance conditions here on Earth. To begin with, it is important to acknowledge that the investments in studies about the universe and other planets contributed to the advance in the knowledge about Earth itself. For instance, a lot of information about our planet's history and origin came from studies from meteorites. In addition, these studies help us to understand more about the past and have more ideas about the future. For example, it is possible to compare the conditions that enable life on here with another planet's settings, as well as study the expansion of the universe and calculate when the sun will transform to its next star phase. Consequently, I believe that space research is crucial and must keep receiving funding. Nonetheless, there are thousands of people here on planet Earth suffering from poverty, starvation and struggling to survive, due to even social inequality, diseases or climate catastrophic events. This is a huge problem that should be addressed by local governments. One of the possible solutions could be to increase the amount of taxes from billionaires and millionaires, as well as from big companies. Therefore, the money collected could be applied to improve the conditions of the marginalized population that have difficulties living. In conclusion, while research about the universe is essential for our understanding of the future and past of the solar system, there are also some enormous problems on our Earth that need to be solved. I slightly disagree with the statement, and I believe that both situations deserve to receive fundings.