Some people believe that everyone should be free to make their own lifestyle choices, even if those choices are unhealthy. Other people think that the government should intervene to influence other people’s choices, for example by putting high taxes on unhealthy products. Discuss both of these views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience

Should we be free to make our own decisions or should the government have a role? When it comes to health, opinions are divided. Should people be able to smoke and eat junk food even if this leads to bad health and has an impact on the national economy? In my opinion, people are entitled to do whatever they like without any interference from the government or others. However, government should be involved to some extent by helping people understand how to live more healthily. To embark on, some people claim that government are advised to raise the awareness in the society by providing different kinds of consultations about better lifestyle particularly in gathering events where many people may benefit of these services. Therefore, it might make population more cautious about the negative sequences of following unideal lifestyle. On the other hand, many people including me state that any human being deserve the absolute right to decide the pattern of life that they would follow even if unhealthy lifestyle was selected. They believe that any person can differentiate between the correct and the wrong thing and it is unacceptable to interfere with their selection. So, people are free to do whatever they like without harming others. In a democratic society, everyone deserves to be free to make their own decisions. However, if people understand the consequences of their actions, then they may be more cautious in their decision making. So, government plays a vital role in raising awareness in communities and helping people to make better choices.