Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Television advertising directed toward young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, advertisers are targeting toddlers and children by enticing them with advertisements. This is an abhorrent practice and I am firmly opposed to targeting immature minds for selling products. In the following paragraphs, I will provide reasons and examples to support my viewpoint. To begin with, marketing agencies are well aware that young children are manipulative by nature and will throw wild tantrums to get whatever they fancy upon. With this in view, they create visually appealing advertisements to entice the toddlers, and for a good measure try to convince that their products are good for the health and well-being of the child. The World Health Organization (WHO) has framed several reports that show that these products like food supplements, chocolates and candies, toys and dresses etc. have little value for the well-being of the child. For example, although brands like Farex, Cerelac, Lactogen etc. say that their milk supplement is vital for the child, WHO has reported that young children only need mother's milk. Further, when the above facts are presented, these agencies pose innocent and insist that their advertisements are harmless and funny. Nothing could be further from the truth! These fancy advertisements create an artificial sense of lack among toddlers. Especially, if the parents are not well-off and are unable to buy these products, the children develop a sense of inadequacy and inferiority. Only recently has the government woken up to these harmful activities and banned the targeted advertisements towards toddlers. In the above paragraphs, I have examined in detail the undesirable effects of advertisements directed towards young children. Although the government has banned most of these commercials, parents also should be educated to spot erroneous advertisements and keep the child away from those. In conclusion, I must, and will record my protest over advertisements targeted towards young children