In some countries, more and more adults are continuing to live with their parents even after they have completed education and found jobs. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that a growing number of young people, including many graduates, are unable or unwilling to leave home and become independent of their life. While this pattern of behaviour has some advantages, from my perspective, the disadvantages derived from it outweigh the benefits which it entails. On the one hand, when young people live with their parents they are able to make the most of this time to save money. They will be concerned with repaying student loans, and may also wish to buy or rent their own house or perhaps even to get married. They make a calculation in terms of how they can afford to make ends meet. They reckon the savings they can make by sharing overhead costs with their parents of running the family home, by contributing to paying the bills. This also helps the parents, who may themselves be struggling financially to meet their living expenses. On the other hand, two major disadvantages of continuing to live at home with parents can be seen. Firstly, even when young people have benefited from happy and supportive family background,they will want to acquire experience of living independently. For example, they will want to take responsibility for their own finances, for raising a family or may simply wish to enjoy their own private space. Secondly, from the perspective of their parents, they may want more time for themselves, free of family responsibilities. After all, they helped their children through higher education, with the aim of putting their knowledge gained into practice and pursuing a successful career, so parents now deserve some time for themselves. In conclusion, although continuing to live with their parents has some benefits, I would argue that the drawbacks are far greater.