Many students find it is harder to study at university or college compared to when they were in grade school. Why is this? What are some possible solutions for this problem?

In modern society, it is commonly observed that students who learn tertiary study have difficulties compared to their secondary school. In this essay, the main causes of the phenomenon and possible solutions will be examined in turn. To begin with, there are some obvious causes of the issue. Firstly, university students have quite different ways of learning. To be specific, students used to follow their teachers or do homework in their secondary school. In contrast, they are often required to do assignments, attend lectures a few times a week and write long essays, meaning that there are a lot of activities they should complete themselves. For example, university students should read hundreds of pages in a book for one lecture, which can put students under too much pressure. In addition, complex time management is another reason. Time management becomes more complicated because students demand to complete their assignments, academic activities, research and even visit career fairs at the same time since competition in the job market is getting worse. On the other hand, a couple of steps could be considered by schools and individuals to tackle the problem. In terms of individuals, students have to find the best way to manage their time for their lives, which is one of the essential skills in life, and therefore they should develop practical time management skills. For example, they can use smartphone applications such as calendars and to-do lists. Moreover, large companies should cooperate with universities, and therefore they often allow students to get opportunities that students are able to experience in job internships. It would be beneficial for companies because they can secure their future talented employees. In conclusion, there are some ways to tackle the issue such as cooperation with companies and learning how they control their time.