In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In some cultures, people find it useful and sometimes necessary to teach children that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. Once, we were all small children, full of dreams, hopes and expectations for our future. We used to dream about perfect lives, jobs, and friendships. In our dreams, stress didn’t exist, all problems used to be small and irrelevant, easy to solve. Growing up though, we slowly started to understand how often things don’t turn out they we wanted them to. On a positive note, children are often taught that concentrating and working hard on a goal will eventually lead to its achievement, to promote such noble behaviors. Especially when little, children tend not to focus much and lack effort, therefore many adults believe that such positive perspective will eventually push youngsters to do better and respect their responsibilities. On the other hand, though, such perspective is too optimistic with respect to the world that we live in and could thus give birth to unrealistic and false expectations. Some parents in fact, complain that children shall be taught that life does not always go as is hoped or planned. Children should be able to understand that there might be problems along the way and that our efforts may not always lead to what we had expected. From a young age, they should be placed in front of reality, without it being masked. Personally, I feel conflicted between those two different points of views. Of course, we should be able to push our children to do their best, work hard to achieve what they want and concentrate on their responsibilities. But at the same time, those children must know what goes on around them and shall be prepared to possible failures and defeats. This, in order to react as best as possible, get back up and start again.