Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons and examples from your personal experience.

Have people become prudent enough to ignore advertisements, or do they still sell? Despite the assumption that they build brand value, advertising gets little attention from today's audiences, who are aware of the marketing strategies and are used to the adverts. Advertisements, according to one school of thought, boost the brand's reputation. This is because in the past, via celebrity endorsements or by repeatedly displaying the same catchy material to viewers, a lasting image used to be created in potential buyers' minds; consequently, similar acts are still considered to make customers willing to pay for marketed items. However, the promotional schemes have been exposed to the public. Firstly, people know that special pricing tactics, such as offering things for 99 rupees instead of 100, are intended to result in insignificant differences to the costs. Secondly, they have understood that celebrities are paid for endorsing an item, and occasionally false claims about the uses of the product are made. Therefore, people are no longer becoming a fool from such announcements. Besides the rise in knowledge about the above methods, the public has been habituated. Since the present generation watches several advertisements daily, they have ceased to respond to them, thereby rendering the marketing messages ineffective. For instance, had my friend not seen the posts of a famous food company on Instagram every few hours, he would have continued to be enticed by the same. To recapitulate, advertisements are considered to enhance the products' image by some; contrarily, they are no longer able to capture the viewers' attention as the current clients are well versed with the methodologies used and see nothing unique in these.