Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people argue that raising the number of sports facilities is the best method to improve public health whereas others thought that other efforts are required as sports facilities do not affect public health that much. Although sports activities could make people healthier, I believe that healthcare facilities are more important for public health. Sports facilities are believed to be beneficial for public health due to the fact that they allow people to be healthier by doing more sports. With the increasing number of health problems that are caused by the lack of physical activities, such as obesity, sports can be beneficial to solve these problems. As a result of the increasing number of public facilities, more people could have healthier lifestyles. For example, since the renovation of Gelora Bung Karno Stadium in Jakarta, more people are doing sports in the area than before. However, while sports are beneficial for prevention measures, more efforts should be allocated towards treatment measures. Healthcare facilities are crucial for public health because they are pivotal for the treatment process. Due to the high number of diseases that have to be treated with medical procedures, it is crucial for states to have proper healthcare facilities, such as hospitals and clinics. Hospitals and clinics are able to improve many people's health conditions as well as save their lives. For instance, a recent study found that the number of healthcare facilities in certain cities in Indonesia strongly correlates to the mortality rate in the cities. To conclude, while many people think that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities because this could promote a healthier lifestyle, I believe that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of healthcare facilities, such as hospitals and clinics because they are able to treat patients.