In spite of advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this case? What can be done about this problem?

Over the last few decades, advancements in technology had a great impact on the agriculture sector. Regardless of innovation, many poor citizens continue to suffer from hunger due to an increase in prices and quality of food products. Therefore, collaborative efforts from the government and people are required to deal with this problem. To start with, people are starving due to the lack of food for various reasons. Firstly, due to the advancements, the cost of food has increased over the years, causing poor people to compromise with meals. For example, research data shows that average households spend $200 weekly on food compared to $100 a few decades ago. Secondly, increased use of pesticides has affected the quality of the food which leads to lower shelf life that causes causing a shortage of food in town. For instance, nowadays, the shelf life of green vegetables and fruits has not been more than 3 days. However, the government should elect different bodies to deal with this ever growing issue. They should sell modern farming equipment at a subsidized rate to decrease the overall cost of growing food. Moreover, authorities should also introduce different ways in which poor farmers can rent better quality equipment to grow crops. Furthermore, they should ban the overuse of pesticides, which lead decrease in shelf life and quality of food. Hence, elected officials need to come forward with different plans to eliminate the problem of hunger. To sum up, problems causing hunger need immediate attention. So, the government should come forward and activate all its resources to eradicate this existing issue.