Smart devices have put all of the world’s information at our fingertips. The benefits of this development is obvious, but what are the drawbacks?

Technology has shrunk the world into a global village. It enables us to know an incident in any corner of the world within seconds. Intelligent gadgets such as phones and laptops have enabled a portable use of internet resources. Although these advantages are undeniably useful, there is also a need to discuss the unavoidable disadvantages that come as by-products to this development. Firstly, the widespread use of devices such as cellular phones have decreased our reliability on our memory. Thus, we don’t tap into our memory faculty as we used to do just a decade ago. For instance, many people used to remember all digits of a contact number just a few years back. Now they are so dependent on digital devices that they can’t even remember one contact without it. If the device is lost, people may find themselves in a precarious position. Secondly, the dire need of these gadgets has resulted in attention deficiency and addiction among the younger generation. Despite being informative, not everyone uses technology to acquire knowledge. A great example of this would be people’s obsession with social media and toxic news, which only makes them more stressful. To summarise, smart devices have indeed changed the way we access information. But their cons seem to be more lingering than their pros. Only with diligent care we can make a proper use of these gadgets. And in most scenarios, this is not the case and it costs people their valuable intellectual resources.