In many societies in the world, the population is ageing rapidly and this is leading to an unsustainable increase in the cost of public healthcare. A nation’s population should pay for their healthcare provision in the future.

A disproportionate percentage of elderly people within populations has incurred costs that the working population could not offset. It was once effective to use taxpayers' money to finance the public healthcare costs. However, it would be more feasible for a population to instead contribute to healthcare costs incurred in their lifetime. This is because it inculcates a sense of responsibility for one's health, as well as reduces waste of national resources. Paying for one's own healthcare can be expensive, but only if poorly managed. People make all sorts of decisions everyday, such as how often they eat desserts, or whether they walk in the sun with appropriate protection. While it could be argued that healthcare is one of the basic human rights, it is also important to consider man's right to freedom of choice. Allowing a nation to take ownership of their medical needs such as melanoma treatment could empower the public to seek preventions rather than cures. One not only breeds accountability, but also encourages people to weigh their decisions and assess the consequences they are comfortable with. Another reason for re-assessing the current system is to reduce waste of healthcare and the country's resources that could be redirected elsewhere. For instance, if less money and manpower are concentrated on medical ailments like obesity and cataract, one's government could improve other phenomena such as the income gap in the population or combat national contributions to global warming. In a nutshell, people should manage their medical costs and treatment as it is one of the most feasible approaches to the rise in ageing population globally. This approach would empower each individual to be responsible for their decisions and to minimise wastage of precious resources.