Animal rights have become a topic of discussion for individuals and government. How far is animal testing justifiable?

In this contemporary era, animal plays an indispensable role in the medical field. Nowadays, the matter of animal testing has become controversial among the authority and the public. Although there are arguments on both sides, due to my own beliefs I agree that animal testing should be banned. Even these beliefs will be discussed in support of my personal stance in the following paragraphs. To embark on, there is no doubt for some people who give preference to stop medical research on animals. Because they believe that animals have the same physiology of the body and a neuron activity of the brain same as common people. For instance, various studies conducted in the USA confirmed that owing to increasing experiments on rats, ten per cent of the population has declined in the last decade. Apart from that, creatures are important to maintain the ecosystem, and many of them are depending on each other. If more used in research, it would disturb the food chain. Thus, the government should give permission to an older animal for testing which is extremely essential. Why medical research on animals is inevitable? The underlying reason behind this is that some animals such as rats, monkeys, rabbits have similar genes to humans. So, it would not only help to distinguish the effects of drugs but also examine the adverse effects of the medicines on society. To further corroborate the above view, an article published in ‘The Times’- stated that during the covid-19 pandemic, scientists had preliminary testing on animals. While they got many rejections during the examination, finally discovered the covid-19 vaccine and medicines. Hence, animal experimentation could save millions of human lives. In conclusion, although there are several benefits to doing animal research, I would say that scientists can do research on other alternative methods such as embryonic cell research, stem cell research. That is why I opine that as much as we should focus on other methods rather than killing animals.