Many people in society believe that having fixed punishments for all crimes is a more efficient way of dealing with criminals in the justice system. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having a fixed punishment?

The perception of many in the society is that, in the judiciary system, the intensitiy of punishing the people for their crimes based on the severity of the crimes is less effective while dealing with the criminals. The below essay discusses the benefits and the drawbacks of fixing identical punishments for all the offences. To begin with, the fixed punishment will create fear in the hearts of everyone because of that people will not even commit petty crimes. In addition, the people will be highly careful in their lives such that their won't be any possibility of unknowingly committing a crime. Consequently, the atmosphere of reluctance to any offence slowly builds up in the society because of that even the ones committing felony crimes will stop repeating it. On the other hand, if the people involved in both the petty and felony crimes are punished with the same severity, then this act will dishearten the former section. Indeed, in disappointment,they may tend to commit the bigger crime. Fixed punishment for all will send the message of injustice and discouragement in society because of that there is a possibility of people becoming more reckless in their lives and; hence, they will end up committing more violent crimes. To recapitulate, although there are benefits of identical punishments for everyone, the drawbacks can cause more damage to society. For petty crimes, people can be punished in other forms like fortifying their belongings, compulsory rehabilitation and necessary participation in social work.