There seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing students through exams rather than continual assessment. What are the advantages and disadvantages of exams as a form of assessments?

In recent years, the basis for the assessment of admission is shifting towards examination over continual assessment. This essay will illustrate the pros and cons of the approach before initiating the conclusion. To start with positive, a crucial advantage of using exams is leaving a very small window of cheating. This is because the whole observation is conducted under the surveillance of technology like CCTV cameras as well as in the presence of invigilators. In contrast, there is a high probability of plagiarism since most of the assignments are solved with the help of batchmates,seniors and from the internet. Besides reducing cheating, It is highly time-efficient within a defined time frame everything must be completed. There are one or two exams in a session that results in lots of free time for students to revise their syllabus completely. Nevertheless, there are too many advantages of the examination approach it also carries some bigger problems. Even brilliant minds go blank in the examination hall due to extreme pressure to solve the question in a defined time interval. Due to, this they suffer from depression and poor performance. Not only pressurise situation but also there is a limit on the number of questions for the evaluation, so it is not possible to cover the whole syllabus thoroughly in the examination for the appropriate judgement of students. In conclusion, Although the examination process has advantages in terms of cutting out cheating and improving efficiency, It is important to consider that they also harm students ability to perform independently and even limited evaluation is being done over continual assessments which is a more thorough and detailed evaluation.