Some educationalists say that every child should be taught how to play a musical instrument. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Music, along with other types of arts, is believed to bring about several benefits for everybody and thus many specialists suggest the education of musical instruments for children. I completely advocate this notion because of the psychological development and talent nurturing potentials of young learners. Firstly, music in general and musical instruments have proved to create positive neurodevelopmental impacts on players, especially at a young age. According to research conducted by the Juilliard Musical School, playing a musical instrument would stimulate favourable nervous substances which can increase and maintain the well-being of the musician. Therefore, knowing how to play an instrument could be advantageous for children and teenagers to better control their emotions and behaviours. Furthermore, creativity could be a possible result of the process, especially those who master the art of playing. Through advanced skills accumulated, players could create different renditions with their own style, hence sharpening their minds every time playing a composition. Not only in music, but creativity could also be applied to numerous other aspects of their lives. Secondly, many more musical talents could be discovered thanks to the education of these instruments. Had it not been for the proper and intensive training, several genius musicians could have not been given the opportunity to shine in their own realm. In Vietnam, for example, the burden of natural science and social science subjects in the public schooling curriculum has prevented the approach to arts in general and to music in particular of potential students, leading to the lack of well-educated artists who could contribute to the country’s music industry. Additionally, the remuneration received from professional careers could be another beneficial motivation and advantage for the young to fully commit to learning this skill. The prejudice about artists can not make ends meet has been proved to be obsolete, as nowadays in many countries, a violinist or a pianist could earn much more handsomely than an average white-collar worker. In conclusion, learning how to play musical instruments can facilitate the young not only in terms of brain development but also career-wise. It is sensible that the educational system and parents should encourage them to acquire this skill in accordance with their will.