The exploration and development of safe alternatives to fossil fuels should be the most important global priority today. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Since the beginning of the industrial revolution in previous centuries and the globalization of the world in the last two decades, the consumption of fossil materials has increased dramatically. Thus, people have begun to believe that it is highly essential to find other sources of energy. This essay totally agrees with this opinion and will first discuss why it is worthwhile to consume different energy sources to preserve the environment and then will consider a problem related to the shortage of nonrenewable energy. To begin with, it has to be emphasised that the burning of fossil fuels, namely oil, natural gas and coal produces greenhouse gases that affect the environment by heating up the atmosphere and depleting the ozone layer. As a result, it causes global warming and climate change. Therefore, by using renewable power such as solar, wind, nuclear sources and hydropower people could avoid or at least reduce a negative impact on the habitat. For example, the last report of the Department of Humanity Issues of Germany presented the data confirming that the percentage of greenhouse gases decreased by seven per cent in the previous two years through the usage of solar energy. Moreover, it is no denying the conviction that fossil fuels seem to be a resource of insufficient amount. Speaking in other words, these types of fuels might run out by the end of the century. This means that the community should utilize not only unrenewable energy but cleaner one as well. For instance, the Russian energy company Gazprom declared that the quantity of natural gas is rapidly declining since the beginning of the twentieth century because it is one of the most consumed sources of energy. In conclusion, decreasing the usage of unrenewable energy and replacing it with other sources is a dominant purpose of today's society. This aim has to be achieved due to the harmful impact of fossil fuels on the environment and the possible extinction of these mentioned energy sources.